Kindly clarify for us the Shariah ruling on using a child nasal spray flu vaccine that contains gelatine originating from swine (porcine): Is it permissible to use such medication?  Is it a problem that it contains a minute amount of gelatine? What if the gelatine was from other animals, like cows for example?


All praise and gratitude be to The Almighty. Peace and blessings be upon Prophet Muhammad.

Having considered the matter from all its facets and having consulted with a number of pharmacologists and specialist doctors, my conclusion is that this vaccine is both permissible and pure. That it contains a minute amount of gelatine, originating from swine, has no bearing on this ruling at all. This is for three reasons:

If we were to suppose that the added percentage were taken directly from the swine itself, and not from a swine-based gelatine, it would have had no bearing on its permissibility for two reasons:

  1. The percentage is negligible compared to the pure substance; since it is minuscule in comparison with the overall composition of the vaccine and is only added as a preservative. It follows the jurisprudential rule that states: That which is submerged by another and whose trace or effect cannot be identified or recognised is as if it had never existed – as a ruling. To this effect we find Prophetic traditions informing us that if there existed a tiny amount of impurity, yet it is overcome by purity, then the former is forgiven. It is also similar to the pouring of the bucket of water on the urine of the Bedouin inside the Prophet’s mosque, as occurs in the authentic narrations.
  2. It is not edible food, but rather a medicine. That which is forbidden is the eating of porkand its derivatives as per the holy verse: [Say (O Muhammad): I do not find in what has been revealed to me anything forbidden to eat except carrion, running blood or swine as it is impure or a sinful offering in the name of any other than Allah] (al-An’am: 145).

This ingredient, although being of tiny percentage, is of gelatine origin and not of pure pork. Gelatine is a pure material regardless of its origins since it undergoes a process in which is it chemically altered to the point of transformation into a new material of different attributes than those of its basic ingredients. Jurists call this metamorphosis “Istihalah”, i.e. that a material transforms into another that is different from the first in Shariah ruling and reality, like the transformation of wine into vinegar that changes its ruling from prohibition to permission – as opposed to the transformation of water into urine.

Most jurists and schools of Islamic law have adopted the Istihalah principle, among them: the Hanafis, Malikis, one reported opinion from Ahmad bin Hanbal and the Thahiris, Ibn Taymiyyah, among others.

Due to the importance of the matter at hand, I will quote here a useful synopsis provided by Imam IbnHazm: “If the characteristics of an impure or forbidden material transform via Istihalah, then its term changes from one falling under prohibition to another falling under permission. It is no longer impure or prohibited as it has metamorphised into another material of a different ruling. Similarly, if a pure and permissible material transforms via Istihalah into another which is impure and prohibited, its status changes from one falling under permission to another falling under prohibition with a different ruling than the first. It is like fruit juice transforming into wine, wine transforming into vinegar or pork consumed by a chicken and the meat of the latter overwhelming the former rendering the chicken’s flesh lawful, etc.”

The concluding recommendation of The Islamic Organisation’s Eighth Symposium of Medical Sciences in Kuwait (1995), stated: “Gelatine is a permissible material regardless of its basic origin as it has transformed into a new material.” Participants in the symposium included chemists, pharmacists, doctors and jurists, as well as representatives of al-Azhar, the Islamic Jurisprudence Convention in Jeddah, the Regional Office of the World Health Organisation in Alexandria and the Kuwaiti Ministry of Health.

The Islamic Jurisprudence Convention in India (2004) also passed the same ruling of permissibility. This opinion of a transformation (Istihalah) occurring with regard togelatine is the one to follow. There are those who may choose to pursue the ruling that such Istihalah does not change the ruling of the materials’ basic ingredients if they were originally prohibited, as per the Shafi’i School. Yet the Shafi’i’s maintain that such ruling must be revisited if the process occurs in certain materials like alcohol, if it ferments naturally through God’s will and is not manmade. In any case, this opinion of the Shafi’i’s is refuted by modern chemistry which proves that the transformation of the original material’s elements into new chemical compounds that are different from the those of the first actually occurs, like wine transforming into vinegar or other things.

If we were to concur that the gelatine retains its swine origin, as per the Shafi’i’ school, there still exists no prohibition to use this vaccine – for a reason different from the above – as any prohibited material, other than fermented alcohol, may be used as medicine if no other alternative exists even if it is made up solely of prohibited ingredients and without any permitted ones contained therein. If, as in this case, it is merely added to a permitted ingredient, then it is more sense to be permitted.

This is supported by two proofs:

  1. When considering the major objectives of Islamic law we realise that the purpose for which one refrains from impurities and foul matters is of the desirable or complementary ranking of importance; while seeking treatment to preserve one’s life is of the necessary – and therefore higher – category of importance in the Shari’ahscale. The necessary upends and supersedes what is desirable or complementary.
  2. The ruling of prohibition or impurity of a specific material is due to its harm and foulness, but if transformed to become a reason for wellness and benefit, its ruling changes to permissibility. An example on this is that one may consume carrion, running blood or swine flesh if necessary for survival when no other lawful means exists.

As for the saying, “Seek treatment, but not with that which is prohibited”, it is considered a weak hadith. But even if it were true, then its meaning would be: Do not voluntarily choose to medicate yourselves with that which is prohibited. Therefore, the hadith does not refer to need or necessity when no permissible substitute to the medicine exists.


As per the Shariah proofs provided above, the use of such treatment is permitted, the ruling correlates with the jurisprudential opinion of most jurists and there are no grounds to prohibit it.  Many flu and flu-like diseases have plagued our world and have rendered the use of such vaccines a must; particularly nowadays as we have been plagued with Covid-19 – a calamity that mandates we do our utmost in seeking the means for its prevention and cure. It could also be reason to avoid visiting health centres under such circumstances in fear of contracting the virus. The permissibility of using such a treatment is further emphasised when it is endorsed by health bodies.

Regarding the question about what if the gelatine was derived of other animals, like from cows for example?

The information provided above on gelatine derived of swine origin better clarifies the Shariah ruling on that which originates from other animals. We know that much gelatine originates from cows whether slaughtered Islamically or not. It is definitely permitted in the case of the former; for the latter, it follows the same ruling as the one mentioned above on that of swine origin. If the gelatine is of fish or non-animal origin, it is definitely permissible and requires no questioning.

We pray that God Grants us wellness and safety, and that He Saves us all from all ailments by the Grace of His Mercy for He is The Most Merciful.

November 20th, 2020.
Rabi’ II 5th, 1442 AH


نرجو أن تبينوا لنا الحكم الشرعي في أخذ لَقاح للأطفال يحتوي على جيلاتين من أصل خنزيري، ويُعطى للطفل بواسطة بخاخ: هل يجوز استعمال هذا اللَّقاح؟ وهل يؤثر اشتماله على نسبة ضئيلة جدًّا من الجيلاتين؟ وما الحكم لو كان الجيلاتين من مواد حيوانية أخرى كالبقر مثلًا؟


الحمد لله، والصلاة والسلام على رسول الله.

أما بعد،

فإنه بعد تصور المسألة والتحري فيها بمراجعة أهل الاختصاص من الصيادلة والأطباء، فقد تبين أن هذا اللقاح المسؤول عنه دواء مباح طاهر، وما استُشْكِل من إضافة نسبة من جيلاتين مستفاد من الخنزير لا أثر له في هذا الحكم؛ لوجوه ثلاثة:

الوجه الأول: أنه لو تُصُوِّرَ أن تلك النسبة المضافة كانت مستفادة مباشرة من الخنزير (وليست من جيلاتين أصله خنزيري)، فلا يؤثر ذلك على الإباحة، لسببين:

السبب الأول:  أنها نسبة منغمرة في الطاهر، وذلك لكونها ضئيلة جدًّا بالنظر إلى مجموع مادة اللقاح تضاف كمادة حافظة، وهي بالاعتبار المذكور مما تنطبق عليه القاعدة الفقهية: (العين المنغمرة في غيرها إذا لم يظهر أثرها، فهي كالمعدومة حكمًا)، ومن هذا ما دلت عليه نصوص نبوية في العفو عن يسير النجاسة إذا انغمرت بغلبة الطاهر، كما في صب دلو الماء على بول الأعرابي في مسجد النبي صلى الله عليه وسلم.

والسبب الثاني:  أنها ليس طعامًا يؤكل، وإنما هي دواء، والمحرَّم إنما هو أكل لحم الخنزير وما يلحق به من شحم ونحوه، كما قال: {قُلْ لَا أَجِدُ فِي مَا أُوحِيَ إِلَيَّ مُحَرَّمًا عَلَى طَاعِمٍ يَطْعَمُهُ إِلَّا أَنْ يَكُونَ مَيْتَةً أَوْ دَمًا مَسْفُوحًا أَوْ لَحْمَ خِنْزِيرٍ فَإِنَّهُ رِجْسٌ أَوْ فِسْقًا أُهِلَّ لِغَيْرِ اللَّهِ بِهِ} [الأنعام: 145].

الوجه الثاني: أن تلك المادة على ضآلتها إنما هي من الجيلاتين لا من عين الخنزير، والجيلاتين مادة طاهرة من أي شيء تَخَلَّقَت، وذلك أنها تتحول عن المادة الأصلية إلى مادة جديدة مختلفة الأوصاف، وهذا التحوُّل يسمى عند الفقهاء بـ” الاستحالة”، وذلك كاستحالة الخمر إلى خَلّ، فهذا ينقل حكمها من التحريم إلى الإباحة، ويقابله تحوُّل المادة الطاهرة إلى نجسة كتحول الماء إلى بول.

وإلى هذا في “الاستحالة” ذهب معظم الفقهاء، منهم الحنفية، والمالكية، ورواية عن أحمد بن حنبل، وقول الظاهرية، وابن تيمية، وغيرهم.

ولأهمية هذه المسألة، أسوق هنا خلاصتها من كلام الإمام ابن حزم، قال: “إذا استحالت صفاتُ عينِ النجسِ أو الحرام، فبَطل عنه الاسمُ الذي به ورد ذلكَ الحكمُ فيهِ، وانتقلَ إلى اسمٍ آخرَ واردٍ على حلالٍ طاهرٍ، فليس هو ذلك النجسَ ولا الحرامَ، بل قد صار شيئًا آخر ذا حكمٍ آخرَ. وكذلك إذا استحالت صفاتُ عينِ الحلال الطاهرِ، فبطل عنه الاسم الذي به ورد ذلك الحكمُ فيه، وانتقل إلى اسمٍ آخرَ واردٍ على حرام أو نجس، فليسَ هو ذلك الحلالَ الطاهرَ، بل قد صار شيئًا آخر ذا حكمٍ آخرَ كالعصير يصير خمرًا، أو الخمرِ يصير خَلًّا، أو لحمِ الخنزير تأكلهُ دجاجةٌ يَسْتَحِيل فيها لحمَ دجاجٍ حلالًا، … ومثل هذا كثير”.

وقد انتهت توصيات “الندوة الثامنة للمنظمة الإسلامية للعلوم الطبية بالكويت” (1995) إلى ما حاصله: أن الجيلاتين مادة مباحة بغض النظر عن أصل ما كانت عليه، لأنها قد تحولت عن ذلك الأصل إلى مادة جديدة، وقد كان شارك في تلك الندوة علماء من الكيميائيين والصيادلة والأطباء والفقهاء، بمشاركة الأزهر ومجمع الفقه الإسلامي بجدة والمكتب الإقليمي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية بالإسكندرية ووزارة الصحة بدولة الكويت.

كما أفتى بالحل بناء على وقوع الاستحالة: مجمع الفقه الإسلامي بالهند (2004).

وهذا الرأي بصحة وقوع الاستحالة في الجلاتين هو القول الصواب، خلافًا لمن استشكل ذلك، أو قلَّد رأي من لا يرى تغيُّرَ الحكم الأصلي بالاستحالة من الفقهاء، كالشافعية، مع أنهم يرون تصحيح القول بالاستحالة في بعض الأشياء وأبرزها الخمر إذا تخللت بفعل الله تعالى لا بفعل الإنسان، ورأيهم هذا يرده اليوم الكشف العلمي الذي يبين أن عناصر المادة الأصلية تتحول إلى مادة جديدة مختلفة في صفاتها الكيميائية، سواء في الخمر تتحول خلًّا أو في غيرها.

والوجه الثالث:  لو سلَّمنا رأي من يرى أن الجيلاتين لاحق بأصله الذي تحوَّلَ عنه، أي باق هنا على أصله الخنزيري، كما هو مذهب الشافعية، فهذا أيضًا لا يمنع استعمال هذا اللَّقاح؛ وذلك لسبب آخر غير ما تقدم، وهو أن المادة المحرمة إذا كانت غير الخمر يجوز استعمالها للدواء إذا لم يتيسَّر دواء مباح، وهذا إذا كانت خالصة الحرمة غير مخلوطة بمباح، فإذا كانت مضافة إلى مادة مباحة فذلك أولى بالجواز.

يؤيد هذا دليلان:

الأول:  من جهة المقاصد، وهو أن مقصد اجتناب النجاسات والمستخبثات تحسيني، ومقصد التداوي حاجي لحفظ ضرورة النفس، والحاجي مقدم على التحسيني.

والثاني:  أن الحكم بالتحريم أو النجاسة لمادة معينة إنما هو لخبثها وضررها، فإذا انقلبت لتكون سببًا للعافية والمنفعة، تحول حكمها إلى الإباحة، وهو وجه إباحة تناول الميتة والدم ولحم الخنزير عند الضرورة؛ لأنها انقلبت عند ذلك من رجحان ضررها إلى رجحان منفعتها، فزال خبثها في ذلك الظرف أو ضَعُفَ.

ولا يُعتَرض على هذا بما يُروى: “تَداووا، ولا تداووا بحرام”، فهذا حديث ضعيف، ولو صح فالمعنى فيه: لا تتداووا بحرام اختيارًا، فلا يتناول الحديث حالة الحاجة أو الضرورة حيث لا يوجد بَدِيل مباح يحقق ما يحققه ذلك الدواء.


مما تقدم يتبين أن استعمال اللَّقاح المذكور جائز بمقتضى الأدلة الشرعية، وهو المتفق مع مذاهب معظم الفقهاء، ولا يوجد ما يمنع منه، بل اتقاء أمراض الإنفلونزا باستعماله ضروري، بخاصة اليوم وقد ابتلي الناس بداء (كورونا)، الأمر الذي يتطلب الاجتهاد بأخذ أسباب العافية درءًا لهذا المرض أو تخفيفًا لآثاره عند الابتلاء له، كما قد يكون سببًا لاتقاء مراجعة الجهات الصحية في مثل هذه الظروف.

ويتأكد جواز استعمال هذا اللقاح عندما تنصح به الجهات الصحية.

ماذا لو كان الجيلاتين متحولًا من حيوان آخر كالبقر مثلًا؟

ما تقدم بيانه في مادة الجيلاتين المتحولة من أصل خنزيري، يجعل الحكم الشرعي أبينَ فيما يتم تحوُّله من أصل حيواني آخر، ومعلوم استفادة الجيلاتين من البقر، والبقر لا يخلو أن يكون مذكى أو ميتًا، فإن كان مذكى فحكمه الإباحة على أي حالٍ، وإن كان ميتًا فحكمه كالذي يتحول عن أصل خنزيري، وإن كان من أصل سمكي أو غير حيواني فحكمه في الإباحة لا يحتاج إلى سؤال.

نسأل الله العافية والسلامة، وأن يرفع عن الناس كل داء برحمته وهو أرحم الراحمين.


د. عبد الله بن يوسف الجديع

الرئيس السابق للمجلس الأوروبي للإفتاء والبحوث

المستشار الشرعي لمسجد ليدز الكبير – مدينة ليدز المملكة المتحدة

5 ربيع الثاني 1442ه

20 نوفمبر 2020م